Tuesday 3 May 2016

De Gea emulates CR7 at Player of the Year awards

United goalkeeper David de Gea has won the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year Award for an unprecedented third season in a row.

De Gea received the award- voted for by the club's fans- at Old Trafford during the prestigious annual Awards night and the Spaniard has now emulated Cristiano Ronaldo by claiming the prize for a third time.

Ronaldo, though, did not win the award three years running- De Gea becomes the first player to do so- and the stopper has underlined his world class status during another phenomenal season.

The 25-year-old has lit up what has been a testing term with memorable saves against Southampton, Watford and, most recently, in the FA Cup semi-final win over Everton.

"Everyone knows he was almost a Real Madrid player- it was very close I think and they are a great club- but as a manager I am so happy he stayed here and he deserves to win this title" said his boss.

Marcus Rashford and Cameron Borthwick-Jackson- brought to United from the famed Fletcher Moss Boys side- won the Under 18 and Under 21 awards after breakthrough campaigns which have seen both catch the eye during prolonged runs in the first team.

The two United Academy graduates described their recognition as 'the stuff dreams are made of' and 'a huge honour'. 

Anthony Martial capped a superb first campaign in red with the Goal of the Season trophy for his brilliant solo strike at home to Liverpool on his debut, beating off competition from Rashford's efforts at City and West Ham as well his own belter v Stoke.

In the previous two seasons, De Gea had won both the Players Player and Sir Matt Busby awards but that run was ended this time around as United defender Chris 'Mike' Smalling was named the former as voted for by his peers.

"It's a massive honour to have won this as voted for by my team-mates, I'd like to thank them for voting for me and some big names have won this so to add my name to that list is a huge honour.
"We've still got a lot to play for as a team and that's more important than individual prizes" said the centre-back.

The full list of United award winners is as follows:

Under 18 Player of the Year: Marcus Rashford
Under 21 Player of the Year: Cameron Borthwick-Jackson
United Goal of the Season: Anthony Martial (v Liverpool, 12th September)
Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year: David De Gea
United Players Player of the Year: Chris 'Mike' Smalling 

No comments:

Post a Comment